Municipal Excellence Network

The Municipal Excellence Network (MeNet) was developed by Municipal Affairs in 2000 to promote superior performance in local government administation and governance practices, and to sustain an environment for continuous improvement and shared learning. Since the launch of the program, MeNet has evolved and has expanded to include the annual Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence.


Municipal Excellence Resource Library

  • Bylaws
  • Policies
  • Practices
  • Other Resources

The Municipal Excellence Resource Library is a collection of practices, bylaws, policies and other resources that have been contributed by Alberta municipalities since 2000. The Municipal Excellence Resource Library can be accessed at: Contributions to the Municipal Excellence Resource Library are collected through submissions for the annual Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence and they are also accepted year-round via email to A sincere thanks to everyone for sharing their practices and enriching the resource library.

If you have any questions regarding the Municipal Excellence Network, including information on practices submitted in the past, please direct them to the Municipal Excellence Team, toll-free at 310-0000, then 780-427-2225 or by email at

Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

The Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence is an annual program that has encouraged to celebrate and share their successes by recognizing accomplishments in the provision of municipal services in Alberta. Each year municipalities, whether individually or in partnership with other organizations, have highlighted practices including new and unique approaches to issues, streamlined processes for existing practices, and creative community partnerships.

Submissions are now being accepted for the

2019 Minister's Awards of Excellence program. Find out more!

Five communities are the recipients of the 2018 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence to celebrate projects that make life better for Albertans.  The winners for 2018 are: the City of Calgary, the Town of Drumheller, the Town of Coaldale, the City of Lethbridge, and the Town of Smoky Lake. For further information about the winners for 2018, please see Awards celebrate municipal excellence (news release) and the 2018 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence page.



  • Date modified: 2019-01-14